If you’re planning on doing research for a nonfiction piece, than I suggest you give what this author says a good going over. We need to show publishers and agents where we got our info. from and this girl tells us all about the right way to put it down so that we do it right and don’t get that rejection form letter ever again. Trust me, she knows what she’s talking about.
After all, she is published. What about you?

Jackie Cooney

Yes, I spelled c-i-t-e and I meant it. I am talking about the art of citations. Citations are the little things at the end of a page, end of a book, and/or in the text that lets the reader know where you got your information. It is crazy important to cite your work because if you don’t, you can destroy your career before it even gets started.

I can hear you from here, “How do I cite my work.”  It can be hard if you don’t know what you are doing.  If you’re in school, your prof will tell you what citation format to use.  Usually the breakdown is as follows:

  • History = Chicago Manual of Style
  • Sciences = CSE (Council of Science Editors)
  • Humanities = MLA (Modern Language Association)
  • Social Sciences = APA (American Psychological Association)

If you are not sure which one to use, check with your profs. …

View original post 241 more words

