image

People say, “Better Safe Than Sorry,” “Haste Makes Waste,” and other such wise sayings. While they’re right, we don’t always listen to them. It’s easy for us to want the job done quickly. We don’t like what we need to do. We have other things we’d prefer to spend our time doing and many other excuses come to mind about why we’d rather get the job done fast. They all sound nice and logical but it wouldn’t take much to punch a whole mess of holes in those excuses.

Several facts are irrefutable. When we do things quickly we don’t leave time to think them through. Going fast leaves room for accidents to happen. At times they are little and easily fixed but other times they plain hurt. I should know. A week and a half ago I did my own stupid quick job. Doing things quick and correct can be done but it requires a learning period I didn’t have.

I bought myself a new kitchen slicer. The man in the store demonstrated how fast and easy it was to turn whole vegetables and fruits into beautiful even slices in seconds. “It was designed for blind people to use,” he said. “Just put the food in the safety handle and run it back and forth in the slicer.”

This I did, but the whole celery stalk was too big to use the handle. I held it in my hand and quickly ran it through. Everything was going great until I got just a wee bit too close and turned the side of my finger into a slice. “Stupid! Stupid! Stupid!” That’s all I can say.

Going too quickly is not a good idea because that’s when we make mistakes. I’ve learned my kitchen slicer lesson and I hope you, my readers, will learn the same thing, slower is sometimes better. In the future I’ll go a little slower with my slicer and keep my hand intact. After all, it’s only a few seconds more. I can live with that.

