Tag Archive: book review

DJ Marcussen’s book The Tax Angel is a delightful and partial representation of what happens to thousands of individuals when tax season comes around. She writes with a witty style that is both concise and entertaining. It is a wonderful read for both the tax professional as well as anyone who has ever endeavored to do their own tax return.

Join Michael and his lovely new wife Kimi, a tax accountant workaholic, as they discover that the real test of love and a strong marriage can be found in trust and the dozens of scraps of paper we diligently keep for tax purposes that drive us mad. You’re in for a bumpy ride. Enjoy and don’t say you weren’t warned. Tax season can get to be scary. Ask Michael. He’ll tell you.

Currently it is available on








To find out more about this author, visit her at


Distracted Living is a book of Chicago, a book of finding one’s true self and of learning that sometimes others come first. Written in a classic witty form, Eileen Lynch leads us from the bustle of Chicago’s busy downtown district to the slower carefree pace of Albuquerque, New Mexico and back.
Cilla Perkins is a self-absorbed woman who lives the law of the electronic age. Her cell phone is permanently stuck to her hand until a car accident by text sends her before a judge. Now she must teach a class on cell phone etiquette. Her six-week journey with her students yields much and she soon finds her life changed by her class just as much her students do.
Distracted Living is Mainstream Fiction at its finest. The style is easy to follow and the characters are more than real. We know them, understand them and feel that they have become our friends.
Join the journey. “Put your cell phone down and pick up your life,” as Cilla says. She has a point. After all, if you were playing with your cell phone you wouldn’t have time to read this book or even this review.

Enjoy Eileen Lynch, “The Musical Writer.”

Eileen’s Website:


Buy on Amazon.com


Or get it on Smashwords.com


Cameron Quinn is a man on a mission. Exactly what that mission is he doesn’t quite know. Whether its speeding along the Italian Riviera in his European sports car or racing his boat across sea swept waters, Cam’s life is one of action. Then an urgent message sends him home and changes the course of his life forever.

Into Cam’s life comes a small boy who his father proclaims a Quinn but before he or his brothers can ask a question, the big man they never thought of as less than invincible, is gone. Now Cam and his brothers must become the one thing none of them knows how to be, a father, but first they must learn how to live together again.

Then out over the horizon came a new obstacle. Anna Spinelli was beautiful but she also was a social work and the one person who could take Seth away from the Quinns. Cam wouldn’t admit it to anyone but he’d grown fond of the boy and he wasn’t about to let her take Seth away. The fact that he was tempted to keep Anna too was just another reason he had to get her out of his life and quick.

Join the thrilling adventures of the Quinn men as they come to terms with new roads in their lives. They’ll meet new people and new paths will open up before them. The reader will enjoy the stumbling journey of the Quinn’s and soon count them among their friends.

As usual Nora Roberts knows how to deliver with power. Sea Swept is book one in a four-book saga. To this series she brings to the reader all the charm of a New England town and the people who live there. We join in the lifelike experiences of the Quinn’s and at times feel the raw emotions intertwined in each man. We watch as the Quinn’s slowly come to realize that love is the most important gift of all.

As readers, the beauty of a saga is that we don’t have to say goodbye at the last page; we can pick up the next installment and carry on right where we left off. So do so, you’ll fall in love all over again with Cameron, Ethan, Phillip and young Seth (soon to be a man in the final book) and like the first three, its worth it.

(So read #1 “Sea Swept,” #2 “Rising Tides,” #3“Inner Harbor” & #4 “Chesapeake Blue”)

Books like this that at the beginning tell you they are part one in a series of three right away leave the potential reader hoping they’ve found a diamond in the ruff. They want characters they can relate with and situations that are strong enough motivation to read not one but three books to completion to find that satisfying ending. Mike Wells has done just that.

He starts out slow but with enough clues hidden just beneath the surface to keep the reader flipping pages. When the decisive moment comes it doesn’t just drop, rattle and roll; it explodes.

The main character Elaine Brogan has been living under a power keg since before memory. When it blows it’s up to her to pick up the shrapnel and decide what to make of her life. It is a journey that keeps the reader enthused to the last page and on into the next, which happens to be another book plus one more.

It’s a good job done right.

This truly is a short story. Written in first person, we only know the main character as Maddie. Her boyfriend Jack Ramirez is referred to be his last name the entire time. Sadly neither character is very rounded. We don’t get a clear picture of what they look like nor what the pint sized apartment looks like either.

The whole story begins and ends in the same location. Their plans of quiet and getting it on are both non-existent. Perhaps Ms. Halliday’s feature length novels have more character development. I hope so. I also hope these tow characters are the same in her other books so that readers get to know them. This should be a piece of who they are and her loyal readers already know Maddie and Ramirez, because if this is truly stand alone, it didn’t do it for me.

It’s cute and at times funny but it needs fleshing out to transform it into a romping fun story.

To each book a story is told. In the case of Kristin Ottolino, the story is that of her aunt. Nanna was more than a mother’s sister to the impressionable Kristin. Nanna represented a free soul. She might not have had a good home, a good husband or even an enjoyable life but she knew how to change bad to good, inbearible to bearible.

In “Seasons of the Tree,” we learn of a strong woman who touched the lives around her with gentle teachings. Joyously we join in those teachings and once again experiance the innocents of a learning child.

Kristin Ottolino writes in a simple form that at many times reminds us of everyday conversations with loved ones. Page following page we watch a story unwind tht brings a rainbow of emotions. The story is truely touching. Delve into this short read and see for yourself.

The book is available to buy both on Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble.com

Visit the author at her webpage: http://kristinottolino.iconosites.com

%d bloggers like this: