A few years ago I first heard the word Blog. I asked, “What is it?” The most popular answer I got was, “I don’t know.” For the most part I stayed in the dark until one day I gave in and decided to have my own. I’ve found out at last what a blog is.

A blog is a hobby, a dream and a personal journal that millions can read. A blog is a group of articles on a certain subject. A blog is reporting. It is musings and wonderings. It is a place where people can get advice and give it. A blog can be anything that the writer wants it to be.

Some people who blog are professionals who get paid to write article after article. Some are people who call themselves writers and who write well but never see a penny for all thier work. Others are people who call themselves writers and who can’t put one correct letter in front of the other.

So what do you think a blog is? Is it a thing to have fun with? Yes. Is it a place to go to to learn and grow? Yes. Is it a place to be silly or serious? Both. A blog can be anything that the writer wants it to be.

So my advice to you is to not worry about what the word means so much as what it gives you. Information, laughs and tears. It is an open book into a person’s soul and a story that is waiting to be read.

Enjoy the world of blogging and remember that unlike math where there is only one answer, there is no right or wrong way to blog. So experiment. Write what you feel and enjoy hearing from your readers. That is the real purpose to blogging.